TravelerReviews

The Hudson Valley

review_img

Jerry Duncan

Hudson Valley Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our 3rd Tauck. A wonderful trip with a fabulous Director. Tauck always seems to take us places that we never knew existed, and yet they are always outstanding. This is a great overview of the Hudson Valley.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mohonk Mountain House was great. A superb setting, lots of things to do and no TV. A great way to get away from it all. Mirror Lake Inn at Lake Placid is a close second.

review_img

Valpo Vic

The Hudson Valley - An Outstanding Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

All aspects of the trip were excellent. Our Tour Director was well organized and did an outstanding job of managing the group using her communication skills. All the accommodations were first class. The tours were very interesting from the start to the finish. The tour bus was very comfortable and the driver was superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

The moving visit to Manhattan's World Trade Center site to hear an interpretation of the 9/11 events by an NYPD detective. A close second was the tour of West Point Academy.

review_img

Waskom

Hudson Holiday

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Wow! So many memories that will last a life time. This was our 10th trip. To watch the young men and women Olympic hopefuls practice was awesome. We had the opportunity to speak with one of the downhill skiers. What a delightful young man. This was my second time to visit Lake George. It brought back memories of my trip with my dear mother.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many memorable moments, but I would have to say that visiting the 911 Memorial was the most moving. My father was a fire chief in Detroit, and when I saw the fire station across from the twin towers site and recalled that all those firemen perished, I just sobbed. Meeting with the detective and her account of that day was moving as well.

review_img

MABusch

Beautiful Trip, Great Weather

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Great fall weather; rain only one day when we toured NYC. Good fall color along the north Hudson. Compatible people, excellent guide, fantastic bus driver. Food outstanding. Hotels excellent except for Tarrytown, which was OK. Excellent stops along the way with good guides. Not quite up to the Grand New England, but close.

Most Memorable Moment:

Relaxing on my Adirondack chair at the Mirror Lake Resort after a great day touring.

review_img

Ellen Alkire

Hudson Valley tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our tour guide was excellent. Where did Tauck find this jewel? This was our 10th Presidential Library and we enjoyed it along with all of the other stops we made along the way. The driver was excellent. The Woman Detective that gave the lecture on the 911 site was excellent. We enjoyed staying in the historic hotels along the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being at 911 again. We saw 911 right after the event, then again a year or so later.....and then now the finished product.

review_img

Nod

The Hudson Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

1. Our Tauck Tour Director and bus driver were the best. 2. If you have never seen the Adirondack's or Hudson Valley this is a must. 3. The entire tour was new territory for us and we have been to 130 countries.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose, but the highlights were as follows: 1. Lake Placid and the Mirror Lake Lodge 2. Mohonk Lodge 3. West Point 4. NYC and the 9/11 Memorial

review_img

donellis

Hudson Valley, New York

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

We enjoy traveling with Tauck, as they always seem to make the extra effort to take care of their "guests". The lodgings are always very nice and the included dining is way more than adequate. We, personally, are pretty light healthy eaters and found that some meal offerings were too much for us. However the food was very good!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the 9/11 memorial and going up in the new 1 World Center. It is really a remarkable tribute to all who lost their lives and to those of us who remember the day. We would recommend it to everyone.

review_img

Dean Horton

A Trip Through History

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was a great experience, seeing the Hudson Valley for the 1st time. The beauty of the wilderness of the Adirondacks was inspiring. The hotels were majestic and comfortable. Led by a superb tour director and transported by an excellent driver, the trip was very informative and well paced with multiple historic highlights.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several starting at Lake Placid where saw an actual ski jump on a 90 meter hill and were treated to a talk by the jumper himself. Our tour of West Point was great in spite of a cold wet day. Our guide oozed military pride. Lastly, the tour of Ground Zero in lower Manhattan was informative and sobering.

review_img

kfnknfzk

Hudson Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was our sixth Tauck tour and it certainly met our expectations. Although the lack of fall foliage was disappointing, the experiences were wonderful. This was a very educational and relaxing vacation, thanks to our tour director who happened to be our tour director on our very first Tauck tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

The scenery, learning the history of the area, the hotels and the very poignant, yet dignified, memorial for the souls lost September 11, 2001. The four-star rating is because I believe the Doubletree in Tarrytown fell well below Tauck's standards. Nonetheless, the visit to Kykuit was worth the inconveniences of the Doubletree.

review_img

Dan S Bohlmann

Outstanding as usual

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

It certainly lived up to our expectations. Everything about it was top notch. The trip director, the driver, the special area experts, the Resorts, the fabulous meals, the scenery, the history, the estates, the boat trips, the tours of Montreal and New York City. We certainly enjoyed every aspect of the trip and all the information we were given.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments on the trip it's hard to choose. Being at the site of the 9/11 memorial - thought provoking or being at the Lake Placid Olympic Ski Area and watching ski jumps demonstrated - awesome! Or maybe it was when the fire alarms went off in the middle of the night(twice) at the Sagamore Resort causing us to flee outside

review_img

reddevil1

Beautiful Fall Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Our trip down the Hudson Valley with stops at historic sites and beautiful locations was a wonderful trip. Thanks to Tauck's timing, we were in upper state New York at just the right time to see gorgeous fall foliage surrounding Lake Placid, Mirror Lake, and Mohonk Mountain House. The amount of free time and activities was wonderfully balanced.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being at the site in Manhattan where so many of our fellow countrymen and others died 14 years ago on September 11th was a moment in time we will not forget.

review_img

Kaci

Wonderful vacation in the Hudson River Valley!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This journey included both scenic beauty and places of historical significance. The beautiful Fall colors added to the experience as did the hotels and food. There was a good balance between group activities and free time. The tour director was great and gave a lot of interesting information.

Most Memorable Moment:

the boat rides on both Lake Placid and the Hudson River were beautiful for both the history and the fall colors.

review_img

PapaMimi

HV11

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Delightful tour, group and Director; our 1st Tauck tour and we'll be back.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mirror Lake Lodge.

review_img

Kent Keahey

The Hudson Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This was our second trip with Tauck. Hawaii was first. Both were great. Every detail handled professionally and tour itineraries very well planned. We have traveled extensively and had always heard Tauck was the best. Our two experiences have confirmed this to be true. We will be back. P.S. Lauren, our Tour Director was great!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many highlights: Mirror Lake and Lake Placid, the Mohonk Mountain House, the Roosevelt mansion and presidential library, the Rockefeller mansion, West Point and certainly the 911 Memorial in New York. The fall colors were great too.

review_img

LCK

Fantastic Tauck tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

I'll tell you what I like about Tauck: Good Value Good planning Good care of travelers Good hotels and food

Most Memorable Moment:

The Garden at the Monhok because I love gardens...Professional garden/nursery people were on a walk with the head gardener there...I attached myself to them...I asked a question after saying I was with a Tauck Tour and not a professional gardener and I received all types of information I was in heaven!

review_img

C.C.

Historical Beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Beautiful place to learn about lots of history on the Hudson river Valley. Wonderful trip and good food.

Most Memorable Moment:

Beauty of the Mohonk House and Museum was wonderful. History of FDR Museum.

review_img

RBell

Beautiful sights on the Hudson Valley Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

With mostly sunny weather, we saw beautiful fall colors on this Hudson Valley tour. The hotels were historic and comfortable, the meals delicious and our tour director was wonderful! We visited many interesting sights and learned so much about the area. it was another great Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had a memorable cruise on Lake George. The fall color on this particular cruise was incredible!

review_img

PCharles

Hudson Valley trip review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

The HV tour guide should be knowledgeable and passionate about the rich history of this region. Lauren read periodic excerpts from sources, unlike other Tauck guides. Dull.Rooms at Mohonk and Sagamore disappointing. Expected water views, not parking lots.No sleep at Tarrytown - loud party all night.No limo awaiting us Monday to NYC airport.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several. Ski jumping demos at Lake Placid were fasincating, and lunch atop tower.Both NYC guides (city and Ground Zero)tops.Mirror Lake memorable in every way. Resort, food, town, Lake Placid cruise.Tour of West Point was a high point. Best guide on entire trip. Farewell NYC reception overlooking Times Square. Sagamore and Becco dinners.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that many aspects of this trip fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

kentmorey

Excellent trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Our first Tauck tour, About what we expected after hearing good things about Tauck from friends. We didn't get our introductory letter at the first hotel so had to wander around to find the start of our tour. Believe this was the fault of the hotel, not our tour leader who did an outstanding job throughout the tour. Overall very enjoyable tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ski jumping at Lake Placid, Sunset at Mohonk,

review_img

LOcken

First Time with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We were really looking forward to trying a Tauck trip as in the past we have always planned and traveled on our own. It was nice to have things all put together without us having to figure out the logistics and details. Meeting new people and experiencing things we normally would not have done, made the trip memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Surprisingly, watching a Olympia training for the ski jump. Standing up by the platform and seeing him fly past us was so different than from seeing it on TV. Plus, this is something that we would not have been able to do on our own as it was arranged just for us.

review_img

RBurns

The Hudson Valley

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Loved the History of this Tour. Great panoramic views and learned so much from all of the stops. The Hotels as always showed the era of the time and some were also contemporary. The Marriot in New York was the perfect location.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing how the Hudson River started as a very small creek and then become such a wide and long river.

review_img

wawilson

THEY DID IT AGAIN

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

HV tour beyond expectations, even for Tauck. The spectacular Bonaventure Hotel in Montreal, then the Beautiful Mirror Lake Inn followed by the gorgeous Sagamore Inn on Lake George . Lisa a great director. Mohonk not for everyone. 3 mansions were A plus history and beauty. NYC hotel and food super. NEW BUS WOW Work on timing-rushed a bit

Most Memorable Moment:

Carolyn loved the whole Lake Placid day, even w/ rain,& Hyde Park & Kykuit. I really enjoyed the whole Adirondack experience, mansions,lifestyle, Inns, vistas, history. Hyde Park was most moving. Frozen in 1945 time.

review_img

DMagee

Except for the Mohonk Mountain Resort, great vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was a great trip. Especially enjoyed the FDR Library. Stayed in a lot of wonderful places. The Mohonk, no air conditioning, no TV. It was rather warm when we were there and it is definitely for a younger crowd. We are senior citizens so we are not into a lot of outdoor activity. The rooms are dark and the lighting poor for reading.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mirror Lake and the FDR Library.

review_img

jdurkin

Summer in Montreal, the mountains, lakes and rivers.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Starting in fascinating Montreal, we travelled by stunning mountains, lakes & stayed at some lovely places ... if you don't count the ultimate tackiness of Times Square! With some wonderful Big Houses and insights into the lives of the Great & the Good along the way, this was a very interesting trip. Spend extra time in Montreal, or move NYC hotel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting John Brown's farm & the Roosevelt National Historical Site. And the visit to John D. Rockefeller's house, Kykuit. Inspirational people & inspirational sites.

review_img

BCowan

The Hudson Valley Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

I didn't find any one thing more special than any other. I just found the entire trip to be very special and interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved it all.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and look forward to hosting you in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button