TravelerReviews

A Sicilian Odyssey

review_img

Light Scalpel

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Wonderful director and driver. Group of travelers were great. The venues were mediocre for Tauck. I have been on 9 trips and this one was the only one that was not satisfying. The venues for the hotels were weak especially in Siracusa. The hotel lost power several times and some of the travelers were stuck in the elevator.

Most Memorable Moment:

The ruins near Mt Etna You need to revisit this venue to make it more interesting or else make it shorter

review_img

tdantona

Sicily: Culture through the Ages Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The tour guide was good, however very disappointed in Tauck's selection of hotels, places to visit, professionalism and precision of movement. The hotel in Siracusa, the Grand Hotel Des Etrangers, was an absolute disgrace and unfit to stay at. It was extremely dirty, it smelled disgusting and was really unsafe. Mold and mildew on bathroom walls.

Most Memorable Moment:

Leaving on the last day. The food was actually very good though. Leave out the stay in Sciacca. Very nice hotel if you are looking for a vacation in the Caribbean or Florida or Arizona. Didn't feel like Italy and especially not Sicily. Waste of time.

review_img

ChikaraSailor

Breathtaking Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The trip was a total immersion into Sicily, its people, beauty, and history. Our enthusiastic guide made the trip memorable with her deep knowledge of the territory, organizational ability, and humor. We visited the highs and lows and came away with a great sensitivity to the complex multi-cultural history of Sicily.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's very hard to be specific. Driving town to town, we saw the new, old, and ancient Sicily all in the blink of an eye. The natural beauty of the landscape captivated us.

review_img

Joya

Sicily: Culture through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The tour is well planned, taking you to some lovely sights. Local guides were well informed. The accommodations were for the most part horrible. The best hotel was in Verdura. The others although rated as 5 star were not what you would expect.

Most Memorable Moment:

Time spent in Siracusa. The wine tours, visits to palaces, the ruins. The out line of the tour was well planned.

review_img

DavidAbbott

A Great Time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Sicily was never on my radar for a tour. We had rented a villa for a week on the Amalfi Coast, and I was looking for something else to do while in Italy. This trip dove tailed perfectly into our vacation. I am really glad we did this. Sicily is a beautiful country - the people, food, and wine are GREAT. The history is spectacular.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many good times to single out one moment.

review_img

DottieKent

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Great educational trip and so much fun...Our tour guide was outstanding and delightful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mt. Etna

review_img

Joyce Ann

Fantastico trip to Sicilia!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We had a knowledgeable tour director. She is a native to the region & she shared with us her love for Sicily. She told us much about the history & Baroque architecture. She was always available to the group 24/7 for any restaurant/touring suggestions. She is truly a GEM!

Most Memorable Moment:

The puppet show which our Tauck Director told us about & able to get us a private performance. The show was fabulous! Thanks to her! She's the best!!!

review_img

carolwr

Almost perfect

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The location was fascinating but the tour director gave us little information about what we were seeing. Not enough background. Nothing of recent history. Hotels were good. The Wagner was too noisy. Service was generally good. I was annoyed by the careful instruction to order only 3 of the 4 courses. It made the trip more budget than luxury.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Greek thater in Taormina with the guide Angello. He made it come alive. The second winery was very nice. The views were spectacular and I couln't say which was best.

review_img

Stevens397

A Fabulous Introduction to Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We just completed our first Tauck tour - ten days in Sicily. What we learned is that Tauck will put you in the best hotel possible but in Sicily, some are not that impressive but are fine. The sites were wonderful, the special Tauck spots were great but NOTHING made it as special as our Tour Director. Wish I had more room!

Most Memorable Moment:

In Ortigia Island, off Siracusa, we had lunch at the home of a Baron. It was a day there was an enormous festival with thousands of people crammed into a magnificent piazza. And there we were, in balconies of his home, overlooking the festivities, drinking his wine and having lunch. Truly memorable. But it was our Tauck Director we remember the most!

review_img

agnes1345

Mostly terrific.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Unlike on other Tauck trips, the food selection and some of the venues were below Tauck standards: lunches in Ragusa and the Teatro Massimo. Hotel Poggio del Sole was substandard. The "pizza party" at Giro Pizza was an insult. Local tour guides were superb, knowledgeable with good English. Tour director was kind, competent, thoughtful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the enchanting island of Ortigia, off Syracuse, where we had a superb lunch and visit to the palatial quarters of the barone Pietro Beneventano, with the gracious "barone" giving a tour of the palazzo. Also, the Teatro Greco in Taormina, where the tour guide gave a condensed lecture on a fascinating subject.

review_img

Michael Wolfson

Very good but not perfect

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We really enjoyed the Sicily Tour. The guide was excellent. All smooth, no glitches. Agrigento, Syragusa-best parts. Corleone pointless-poor excuse for pit stop and fig newton. Noto-unexpected surprise. Verdura-posh intermezzo. Not enough Palermo-use Corleone time for Palermo instead.

Most Memorable Moment:

Agrigento

review_img

StanleyClark

The Wonders of Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Visiting the Mafia museum in Corleone, staying at Verdura Golf and Spa Resort, the ruins in the Valley of the Temples, and the wonders of Siracusa and Taormina were but a few of the incredible moments experienced on this trip. Words cannot express adequately the beauty and wonders of Sicily.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Taormina and all of its wonders, including hillside towns.

review_img

Mimi Pryde

Spectacular Sicily!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We had heard wonderful things about Tauck Tours before embarking on our trip. The tour lived up to the hype and then some. Our tour guide was a consummate pro and knocked herself out to make sure than everything was running smoothly. We couldn’t have been more pleased.

Most Memorable Moment:

It’s hard to choose a particular moment- there were many. While we were sitting in the amphitheater in Taormina, a man with a magical operatic voice moved to the center of the stage and sang a beautiful aria. The amphitheater’s setting, its history and the timelessness of the lyrical vocals created an indelible moment that I will long remember.

review_img

EvaPopper

Sicily Through the Ages gour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The tour was great! Tour Director conveyed her enthusiasm to the group, and made every moment memorable. The highlight for me was Agrigento which had been on my wish list for years. The visits to the wineries were fun. The palaces where we were invited guests were special treats. Hotels were amazing and local guides knew their stuff.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through the temple areas of Agrigento was especially exciting and awe-inspiring!

review_img

imangman

Sicily- Bellissimo!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

As usual, Tauck provided a thorough experience hitting great highlights of a wonderful area! The places we visited provided an appetizer causing us to want to return to places like Ragusa, Modica, Noto and Ortyggia. I have to say that our guide totally made this trip enjoyable and brought the entire Famiglia together.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is a difficult one as there were many memorable moments but I'd have to say that taking a late afternoon boat ride around Syracusa with some of the folks from the tour stands out for me.

review_img

SKO

Fascinating Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We loved the trip! Such an interesting country made even more so by our wonderful guide. She really made the whole experience fascinating. We liked most of the places we were introduced to, such as Argiento, Ortigia, Modica, Ragusa Ilba, Taormina, Corleone. I personally would leave out the Verdura Resort. It was sort of out of character.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in Corleone and attending the anti-mafia meeting was so interesting. We also liked walking through the baroque cities of Ragusa Ilba and Modica. Of course, Ortigia and Taormina were beautiful and wonderful!

review_img

Matt B

Sicily - A Beautiful Destination and Wonderful Homecoming

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

What a magnificent tour of Sicily! This trip covered many cultural, artistic & historical highlights with surprises at every turn. Our Tour Director was terrific - energetic, professional & humorous with a deep knowledge of the area & its people. This was our 8th Tauck Tour and we rank it among the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several: The private concert at the Teatro Massimo in Palermo; the highly moving and inspiring visit at the anti-Mafia center in Corleone; the wonderful lunch and heartfelt hospitality of Barone Pietro di Beneventano at his palazzo in Ortigia; the temples at Agrigento; the charm of Ragusa Ibla; the beauty of Taormina.

review_img

Lieblong

Sicily: Culture through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Having already visited Italy with Tauck a few years back it was nice to visit Sicily and experience the culture and history of the island. The tour was well planned and our tour director was excellent. Each day was filled with experiences that we will remember. This was our fifth trip with Tauck. There will definitely be more in the future.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the ruins in Agrigento was memorable as was visiting the Mafia museum in Corleone. Taormino was a beautiful city and Castelmola on the hilltop was spectacular. Actually the whole trip was memorable.

review_img

BBerkowitz

Seeing Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We arrived for our 10 day Tauck Tour of Sicily after spending 4 days on our own visiting Rome. By the time we arrived in Palermo we were already acclimated to the 6 hour time change from New York. This was our first "small tour" (26 travelers) experience out of 10 previous Tauck Tours. Small touring is definitely the way to go.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved Taoramina and Mt Etna.

review_img

Barbara Donahue

A great Beginning

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was my very first Tauck experience and it exceeded all expectations. The first day we met with our fellow travelers and our director, which set the tone for what was to be a great journey. The accommodations were perfect, our bus and driver first class, pre-arranged meals excellent and our Tauck Director was a great guide in every aspect.

Most Memorable Moment:

I can't say there was one specific moment, but the overall congeniality of our fellow travelers made this a memorable experience but if I had to point to one experience it would be the private concert we were given at the opera house in Palermo. What an elegant surprise.

review_img

mikemorris

Great example of the Tauck process

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

While the physical demands of Sicily were significant -- lots of steps no elevators -- the itinerary was classic Tauck. Timing was perfect -- pickups, bags in your room, meals and special events ready when the group arrives. The Tauck specials were the best we've had. I mean lunch with the baron in Siracusa at his palace was really special.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Barons lunch ,the wonderful food and his warmth.

review_img

cece007

Sicily, Culture Through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Overall, my husband & I enjoyed Sicily very much. Disappointed with some hotels and one excursion, but would not hesitate to recommend this one. Tour Director was truly exceptional, smart, organized & had us crying with laughter. Great local guides shared the history. Our Tauck Director, with her Sicilian roots, shared the soul of Sicily.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mt Etna, truly amazing. The Greek Temples were pretty impressive. Taormina is just lovely....the views! Modica chocolate is not to be missed. Lovely lunches at the vineyards were so enjoyable. Loved our traveling group, only 29 of us, perfect size. Some hotels, not so enjoyable, wish Tauck could do something. Did not like Corleone.

review_img

wendytony

Sicily is a beautiful, historic and friendly place to visit

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We enjoyed Sicily very much; it is very rural but the Mediterranean can be seen from the road all around the island. People are very friendly. Food was a disappointment; food at the ending Tauck reception was mediocre. The director was reluctant to make recommendations for free night dinners - recommend you research ahead. Lot of bus time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The stop at Verdura Golf Resort was an unexpected and relaxing respite, with great food and super accommodations. Siracusa was a delightful surprise, as was Taormina. The history is fascinating; so many different rulers and cultures over the years. All of the Greek ruins were interesting.

review_img

JohnStern

Sicily: Culture through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We had a great tour director - knowledgeable, enthusiastic about her country, entertaining & funny. She made a complete effort to assist those guests who needed assistance. The local guides were top-drawer - knowledgeable & committed to making sure guests had the opportunity to learn all they wanted to know. The accommodations & venues were tops!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to single out one! The personal tour of the Baroness' museum & the private opera performance in Palermo, the mafia experience in Corleone, the stay in Vendura, the Valley of the Temples in Agrigento, the tour of Noto, the tour by the Baroness of her house in Syracuse, & the stay in the San Domenico Palace Hotel in Taormina were highlights!

review_img

Little E

A True Learning Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Knowing very little about Sicily, I was amazed to learn about it's rich history and mingling of cultures. The weather was perfect and the flowers and plants were beautiful. VERY knowledgeable tour director and guides. Several one of a kind experiences that made this tour unique and special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting in the Greek/Roman Theater in Taormina looking at our hotel and Mt. Etna in the background, learning about the rich history of Sicily.

review_img

georgesumner

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

The tour guide was the best we ever had. The outdoor lunches were great moments.

Most Memorable Moment:

The outdoor lunch at the hotel near the Greek temples in Agrigento

review_img

MBattle2

Sicily: Culture Through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Had a wonderful tour director. We especially enjoyed the ancient Greek and Roman Temples and theaters. We also enjoyed the visit and lunch at the Corleone Winery, and the talk regarding the Mafia. We loved (Vendura Golf and Spa Resort), and the ancient temples of Zeus, etc. Also loved Taormina

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing ancient archaeological artifacts, Taormina, and pottery demonstration. Also loved the island, Ortygia.

review_img

Travel Costs

Sicily: Culture Through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This trip, like many Tauck tours, provides a history lesson combined with lots of fun. This is an ancient island that has maintained its ancient charm. The only modernization is in the hotels that offer comfort. Tauck hotels are the best that the area has to offer, and the seaside resorts are beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are so many memorable moments within the itinerary that rating them is just too difficult. Honestly, every experience is memorable, and there's enough variety to please everybody. There is so much to see and do that sometimes we have to take a short break to refresh ourselves for the next surprise that Tauck provides for its guests. Fun!

review_img

CJloew

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Wow! What a wonderful trip! Our first Tauk tour was everything we hoped it would be! We never felt rushed or lost in a crowd. We loved meeting everyone in our group.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's really hard to choose just one most memorable moment. I think it was the private access and events at the Opera House and the Villas.

review_img

SalN

Nice trip but not quite what we expected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We arrived on 8/31/16 in Palermo and it was hot,,too hot and we live in Florida...We were told that September temps would be in Mid 80"s but first half of tour the daily temps were in low 90's....Unfortunately A/C in Sicily not like the States and several places not even air conditioned,,such as Opera House and AntiMafia Museum..Verdura great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mt Etna,, .Food in restaurants great...Only Two top hotels ,San Domenico and Verdura..The other three hotels were lacking ,,the one in Siracusa had bad mildew and mold and our room on first floor next to a outdoor restaurant had speakers blasting music till midnight...Overall would say a 3 star experience..

review_img

Goudeys

Sicily: Culture through the Ages - June 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

We knew little about Sicily but friends who wanted to go there suggested we join them on this trip. We are very glad we went. The tour includes visits to many historical and archaeological sites covering Greek, Roman, and Christian eras in the islands history. In addition Tauck has found outstanding properties where guests can relax at days end.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had a beautiful day on the slopes of Mt. Etna with a chance to hike on the lava flows followed by a delightful lunch at a local winery. Verdura resort was a wonderful place to swim and relax. We had an outstanding tour director and local guides. And, not to be forgotten, a special surprise at Teatro Massimo!!

review_img

dudley11

An Exceptional Trip Not to be Missed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

As always, Tauck's itinerary was an excellent blend of tours, great food, wine, and ample free time to explore on our own. Our June 13th trip was made especially pleasurable with the Tauck director who was exceptional, witty, and very knowledgeable. The hotel accommodations were the best and typical of Tauck, all were in the 100% locations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The surprise opera private performance and the Tauck cocktail reception after the tour of the Palermo Teatro Massino opera house. Also enjoyed our free time at the massive luxury, relaxing, ocean side resort in Sciacca called the Verdura Golf and Spa Resort. There were many others too, including two meals at private mansions.

review_img

Shellybelly

A Slice of Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

From the moment that we were picked up at the Palermo airport to our departure from Catania, our tour was flawless. The group that we had was wonderful and everyone got along. Perhaps the best part of the tour, however, was our tour guide. She did everything she could to ensure our trip was a delight, which it was.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments, but perhaps what I liked the best was our lunch in Agrigento which overlooked the Valley of the Temples. It was spectacular! I also enjoyed the two nights at the Verdura Golf and Spa resort. It was relaxing and a good break in the action. Taormina was also wonderful, with the great view and shopping.

review_img

celiaj1

Wonderful Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Sicily: Culture through the Ages was I trip I will never forgot! We saw and learned so much! Our tour director was so energetic and shared her love of Sicily with all of us! I would go back again!

Most Memorable Moment:

It was all memorable!

review_img

Adunn74

Simply Wonderful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

My parents and I had a wonderful time on tour through Sicily. This itinerary is comprehensive and highlights the many facets of Sicilian history and culture. Our group dynamic was warm; we were like family. This, in part was created by Melisa, our knowledgable, gifted tour director. I can't wait to return to Sicilia!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose! Opera at Teatro Massimo, biking around Verdura Resort, driving the countryside, Agrigento, puppet show in Ortigia, lunch at Barone's in Ortigia, lunch at the wineries, Mt. Etna/Taormina.

review_img

wizdom

A feast of unpretentious beauty and culture

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

I only expect Sicily is an island full of cultural history that differs from the mainland Italy; this trip offers more than just that. The unpretentious beauty of the landscape combined with rich history (and architecture) and tasty food has filled to my heart content!

Most Memorable Moment:

It strikes me Sicilian still hold on the tradition of generations involving in hand-made art from Sciaca's ceramic workshop to Modica's super delicous chocolate to Ortigia's puppet show. The stay at Taormina in the monastery converted hotel with spatacular seacliff view concluded the history and modern time can live through its landscape in harmony

review_img

alicali

A wonderful tour of Sicily!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We really had a wonderful time on this tour as we do on our other Tauck tours. There is so much to see and do. I felt like we saw so much in so little time. We even had some down time at the Verdura Golf and Spa resort!! Loved the wineries especially the Principe di Corleone - great lunch! Really liked the tour in Agrigento and all the others!

Most Memorable Moment:

I can't just find one moment that was most memorable! Our tour director was great, the driver was good and all the local guides were so informative! I only wish that the tour lasted longer than 10 days. One needs more time to savor the land, the art, the culture and of course the food and the wine! There were so many great little surprises!

review_img

wscottyj

Began as a tour. Ended as a group of friends!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We began this trip with trepidation as we had never embarked on a tour with a group. Many questions came to mind about the people we would meet, the places we would stay and the time we would spend together. The group ended up being ten wonderful couples that became friends in such a short time. And our guide - what a delight!

Most Memorable Moment:

Verdura and San Domenico Hotel in Taormina.

review_img

MiriamyPepito

Amazing Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

We chose Tauck for the 4th time. We've done land tours and a river cruise in the past. Tauck takes care of all the details. The small unforgettable special moments, like the private puppet show in Taormina or the private opera at the Teatro Massimo in Palermo. The chosen venues to eat, the visits to ruins, cathedrals, wineries, etc.

Most Memorable Moment:

Staying at St. Domenico. The grounds and the views are spectacular.

review_img

Pat_315

great guide made the trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our Tauck Director did so much for everyone he would be hard to top.

Most Memorable Moment:

walking on the Mediterranean beach

review_img

vendinello

Sicily Culture Through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our trip was fantastic - perfect weather, great guide, very nice hotels Except for hotel in Ragusa - not up to your standards and we were not able to order off the menu, absolutely wonderful food, a very nice group of people on our tour, comfortable bus, terrific driver We did not enjoy our visit to Corleone anti mafia center.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from our room in Taromina was breath taking and the surroundings were beautiful.

review_img

DICK BAER

SICILY THRU THE AGES

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

EXCELENT GUIDES, HOTELS AND TRANSPORTATION. VERY IINTERESTING TRIP. THE FURNISGED LUNCHES AND DINNERS LEFT A LOT TO BE DESIRED. ALMOST ANY SIDEWALK CAFE HAD MUCH BETTER FOOD.

review_img

MikeW

Nice Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Just came back from Sicily. Overall, it was a very nice trip. It was very informative and educational experience. However, the only negative is a choice of some of the hotels. Definitely not up to Tauck's standards. Also, (except for Verdura Resort & San Domenico Hotel) the breakfast was not very good. Very limited selection.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved visiting Corleone, Siracusa, Mt. Etna and Taormina. Very unique and interesting places.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. We are glad that you enjoyed the trip for the most part. I have forwarded your comments regarding the hotels and breakfast on to our Operations team who is always striving to improve our tours. We look forward to having you travel with Tauck again!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MM Walsh

Exactly what we expected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Our traveling companions were the best group I've ever been on a tour with and our guide was friendly, fun, and knowledgable. The itinerary was very good. We covered a lot of ground but we never felt rushed. If you arrive in Palermo early, the cooking class offered by Vincenzo Clemente of Ristorante Cin Cin is a great pre-tour activity.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lunch with Barone Pietro di Beneventano at his Palazzo in Siracusa was a great experience. He is a fascinating person who clearly enjoys sharing his home and his family history with his guests.

review_img

JudithFudge

Some of the ruins were covered for concerts

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We had a delightful tour with our Tour Director and Bus Driver. Our Tour Director was a wealth of information and very interested in her guests having a great time. Our driver was a great driver. Understandably some ruins were covered for concerts that detracted a bit from the sites.

Most Memorable Moment:

A private candlelight welcome dinner with the Principessa di Raffadali and tour of her palazzo. Private tour and short concert at Teatro Massimo. The Anti Mafia Center and the passion of guide Antonio. Private visit and lunch with the Barone Pietro di Beneventano. Taormina - stay a few extra days here

review_img

Mario Cardullo

Great Tour-Except!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

This tour was exceeding well managed by the tour director. The guides at the various destinations were also outstanding. The hotels were the also excellent. However, as a very experienced world traveler the food was less than one star! Generally, for these high fees my wife and I expected five star meals. I cannot recommend

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry the food did not meet your expectations. We have forwarded your comments to our Operations team, who is always striving to improve and enhance our tours.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sizzling Sicily!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

This is my sixth Tauck tour, and I loved this entire trip. The pacing was perfect, not as hectic as some previous tours. Weather divine, food incredible, tour guides thorough and thoughtful. I especially loved the balance of activities and all the lunches at vineyards! Hotels were fabulous. Hard to beat this trip!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing part of Mt. Etna, the anti-Mafia museum, the Someone kissing the back of my hand....dinner at the Principessas, walking around Siracuse, the always present views of the sea, fresh native food, the list goes on and on! Oh, chocolate tasting in Modica!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your journey to Sicily and the surrounding areas! Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

cafiore

Sicily April, 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

We have nothing but good things to say about our tour. Everything about it was above expectations. The sites visited and guides were superb; accommodations excellent; transportation extremely comfortable and convenient; driver very considerate and most capable; meals at Principessa's, the winery, the Barone's & Mt Etna were outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tour Director was incredible. Not only was she considerate and accommodating to everyone she was tireless in providing information about the culture, the tour, incidentals and anything else anyone inquired of. We can't imagine what the tour would have been like without her. She is a tremendous asset to Tauck.

review_img

melba135

Sicily October 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Lovely trip helped by mostly wonderful weather. Excellent team looking after us, the coach driver Peppi and Anna - nothing was too much trouble for them. Enjoyed the variety of the experience and got to see the sites which most interested me.

Most Memorable Moment:

Segesta without a doubt. Fabulous temple and theatre.....

review_img

lila

Sicily: Culture through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Fabulous! Tauck Tour Director was wonderful a well as the motorcoach driver. The individual city guides were great too! Sicily is an island of contrasts and Tauck's highlights certainly showed us those contrasts. Overall the hotels were great but my favorite was the San Domenico Hotel in Taormina--what a beautiful place. Congrats to Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

More than one:The two visits to the wineries + Principessa & Barone's homes. But I just feel the entire trip wss memorable for me.

review_img

JHS

Good Trip to Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We had an exceptionaltour director, [Employee Name], and a superb bus driver, Saro. The tour starts in Palermo as a base, which is an unattractive city. Beyond that things got much better - Agrigento,the baroque towns, Siracusa, Mt Etna, and Toarmina the highlights for us. Sicily is off the beaten track, but well worth it. Too much good food

Most Memorable Moment:

Siracusa - the town, the ruins, and lunch with the [Employee Name]. Followed by Mt. Etna.

review_img

Florida_Traveler

A Very Nice Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. However, we understand that some of the stops are being changed, which may give the tour a slightly different flavor. We have to say that two of our hotels did not have adequate air conditioning and the staffs were not as welcoming as we have experienced elsewhere. But, the meals were wonderful. A nice Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Sicilian cuisine was just outstanding.

review_img

Sechaba

Sicily 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We enjoyed it although we are too old and wobbly to do the difficult walks. Anna,our leader taught us a lot about the history of Sicily and Italy but we would have liked a little more information on the countryside we were driving through. The ceramic and marzipan factories were interesting. The puppet show would have been if we had understood it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to say. Thelma probably when she was toastd with champagne at lunch on her birthday and for me the visit to Mt.Etna. Neither of us will ever forget how extraordinarily well Anna looked after the two us and, all in all, it was an unforgettable experience and I am only sorry that it will probably be our last trip overseas.

review_img

Rosanne

Sicily- Our May 2014 Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Loved our tour of Sicily! Hard to decide the most favorite part of the trip. The Doric temple in Segesta, medieval Erice, Valley of Temples in Agrigento, pottery demo, the Neapolis Archaeological Park in Siracusa, Mt Edna or the sheer beauty of Taormina! Third trip with Birgit as our tour director. She's the BEST! Lunch with the [Employee Name]- fantastico!

Most Memorable Moment:

The phenomenal view of Mt. Etna from our hotel room early in the morning was just gorgeous! Any view from Taormina was spectacular. It was probably our favorite city.

review_img

JHoover

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

It was a wonderful trip, that went all round Sicily. There was a nice mixture of group time and individual time. Our director gave us additional information about things we might want to see or do while we were on our own. Everything seemed to be timed perfectly. We never felt rushed when we went places, nor did things go on so long we were bored

Most Memorable Moment:

Many memorable moments.

review_img

DBrotherton

Sicily: Culture through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Really enjoyed the beautiful houses of the [Employee Name] and Contessa. The food at the [Employee Name]'s house was outstanding. Both houses were like walking into a museum. Trip was very organized. Meliss our director went out of her way to be helpful. People our driver was great. Itinerary was well planned, with great hotels. Needed more time in Taromina.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mt Etna and the Hotel in Taromina(loved the old monastery).

review_img

R Colon

Really enjoyed Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

It was our third Tauck experience. My wife and I expected a lot from this trip and we really enjoyed it. A great way to learn and live like sicilians for 10 days. Thanks to all those who made possible this experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

The people we met in the trip as well as those who guided us throughout Sicily.

review_img

Andrea Roitman

Spectacular trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Loved every place we went and had the best tour director. Nobody could have been better. We went to Southern Italy on our own before we took this tour. It would have been nice it Tauck had offered this as part of the trip, namely visiting Matera and Albarobello. Staying in the cave and trulli was a highlight of those cities for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say -- loved everywhere we went.

review_img

davedeni

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This is the way to see Sicily. We appreciated all of the "back door" experiences that you would not get traveling on your own. Very memorable!

Most Memorable Moment:

Having dinner on the terrace at Hotel Timeo in Taormina

review_img

asparkuhl

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Jam packed with people, places, food, and some memorable moments. A challenging trip due to the variety of activities and the high level of participants. Trip leader was great. Would recommend safety precautions in the future as some travelers were in less than optimal physical condition and found the trip difficult. Would be happy to discuss.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taurmina definitely. Good to leave the best for last. Verdura needs to be extended another night. It's too good just to sleep at.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and thank you for your comments and suggestions.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

VCordaro

Breathtaking Sicilia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The most comprehensive tour of Sicily to be had. Thoroughly enjoyed it all, particularly dining with the Princepessa and [Employee Name] in Palermo and Ortigia. Would have loved another day at Verdura, more time to see Sciacca and Agrigento and add Cefalu to the itinerary - another jewel like Taormina.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JGuydish

Unforgettable Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Sicily is beautiful. The weather was perfect. Members of the tour were friendly and enjoyable to be with. The tour director was outstanding. Knowledgeable of the areas, and informative of Scily's past hiaroey. We stayed at the best hotels, with great breakfasts every morning. Visits to the beautiful churches, and the vineyards.

Most Memorable Moment:

The stay at the San Domenico Palace Hotel in Taormina with it's beautiful gardens.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Guydish, We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your journey with us. We look forward to hosting you on many future adventures. Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JMarchi

Sicily: Culture Through the Ages

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The trip was outstanding. It brought together all of the cultures that make up Sicily. Our tour guide was the best! She gave us so much information about the Island. Each local guide gave us the history of the areas. Each town and village was memorable. Great trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

It's very hard to say. Probably Monreale was a favorite, but it is hard to choose!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Marchi, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are very pleased you enjoyed your journey. Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MisMarge

Far from "idyllic" trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Tauck once again provided value for the dollar on this trip but it was such a busy itinerary that it failed to capture the idyllic feeling of this island. The tour needed "down" time to soak in the Mediterranean beauty of this island and its people. Hotels, restaurants and attractions were of the caliber you expect from Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

A most memorable moment was being at an outdoor cafe in the main square of Siracusa having a drink and something to eat with a few others from the tour. This square is amazingly beautiful, and in the evening it is softly lit and just incredible to see and experience.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We appreciate your sharing your feedback and are sorry that you felt there was not enough personal time to explore on your own. We take this kind of feedback very seriously and will be using it to enhance this journey over the next few months. Again, we're glad you enjoyed your trip overall and hope you'll still choose to travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

kdb

Sicily: Culture through the Ages -- First Tauck Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

This was my first Tauck Tour and it was great. The Tour Director (Melisa) was magnificent -- she was very well organized and took great care of the folks on the tour. The tour met all of my expectations -- the choice of hotels was great -- no complaints. I'd travel again with Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

No one point in particular -- other than the attention to details provided by the Tour Director -- very impressive.

review_img

Va Girl

Sicily , Sept-Oct 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We had great weather. The pace of the trip was perfect. Best part was our tour director and the group we travelled with. Learning about the anti-Mafia movement in Corleone, chocolate tasting in Modica, and enjoying a typical, hearty Sicilian lunch at a vinyard on the slopes of Mt. Etna were the high points. Our Tauck trips just keep getting better!

Most Memorable Moment:

The lunch at the vinyard on the slope of Mt. Etna.

review_img

tennisbum

Exceeded expectation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

A totally successful trip with tour guide [Employee Name], who seemed to be in her perfect element. She balanced history and entertainment, was very approachable and a joy to listen to and her Sicilian back ground and love for the country showed. Good hotels w. good locations, food surpisingly good and plentiful. Breakfasts something else!

Most Memorable Moment:

Etna and Taormina

review_img

marines2007

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Number of hotels were noyt up to Tauck standards with problems with air conditioning and small rooms allocated to many Tauck guests!!! Trip should have provided two middle nights at Verdura to allow some relaxation as otherwise too rushed!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hotel in Taormina

TAUCK RESPONSE

We're sorry to hear that some of the hotels fell below your expectations. We appreciate your candid feedback and have shared your comments with the Manager of this journey. We strive for complete satisfaction in all areas of travel and again apologize that we were unable to do so on your holiday.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Rich Kroll

Another great experience in Italy...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Great trip overall. Sicily offers great food, history, friendly people, some beautiful coastline, sun..sun...sun. Our trip included a wide range of experiences from Greek and Roman ruins, to wineries, lunch with a Baron (oh what a meal), the baroque town of Noto, medieval town of Eriche, the beauty of Taormina, and the history of Corleone.

Most Memorable Moment:

Three experiences stand out for me. The mafia museum in Corleone. I was reading Midnight in Sicily at the time and it was a great tie into the book. The Pupi show (string puppet show) was great fun, a real Sicilian tradition. We extended a day and had a driver take us to the two towns where scenes from the Godfather were filmed.

review_img

DNeidich

Amazing Tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Beautiful accommodations, scenery, weather & food! Our fantastic Guide was very helpful and enjoyed her job tremendously!

Most Memorable Moment:

The beautiful hotel accommodations. The beautiful churches and towns we visited. The entire tour was wonderful.

review_img

Italiana

Sicily: Land of the Ancients

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

If you like history, culture, good food, great hotels and a fabulous natural environment, you will love the Sicily, Culture through the Ages tour. It was more than we expected and well worth the money. One suggestion: include all meals and don't forget to bring a credit card that can be used to get Euros at the ATM,called a Bankomat.

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing Mt. Etna. Nicole was a great tour director. Rosario a skilled professional driver.

review_img

STUBBYMAGEE

Sicily-The New Tauck Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Tour Director was FANTASTIC. The hotel in Palermo was not a good hotel. Unless the window was open, there was no natural light in the room. The "La Zagara" and "Hostoria" restaurants need to have better staffing asd some at our table did not not get served in a reasonable time (at Hosteria it was two hours for one dinner).

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of Taormina.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your recent journey through Sicily. We appreciate the kind words regarding your Tauck Director, but are sorry to hear that Grand Hotel Wagner and some of service staff fell below your expectations. We value all of our guests’ feedback and continue to use this kind of feedback to make the necessary improvements to ensure the most memorable trips of a lifetime.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Cicero

La Vita Vera

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

You may go to Rome, Venice and Florence and experience LaDolce Vita, but in Sicily you live La Vita Vera. Sicilians are warm, friendly and unpretentious. Sicily is an island of wild beauty and history, with a culture that dates back to antiquity. The tour encapsulated the passion and pride of a Sicily one must experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being amid the ruins of ancient temples, Greek and Roman theaters, and climbing Mt. Etna highlighted the tour. Baroque architecture of Sicilian towns and the beauty of Taormina surpassed expectations. Great moments come when engaging the Sicilian people and discovering their warmth and genuine interest in making you feel at home and like family.

review_img

McDougall

Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Our tour guide Melisa added a lot of color to the trip. She is smart, funny and well educated on travel. Hotels were fantastic.Excursions were all great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Valley of the temples.

review_img

vst

Tour of Sicily revisited

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Sicily was breathtaking. The scenery, the history, the culture the culinary art were spectacular. It was a constant door to the past and present characteristics of this special Italian island. Tour Guides filled you with important facts and the country lent itself to constant photographic memories. But it was tedious needing more free time to enjoy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mt Etna, amid the breathtaking views from Catania and Toarmina, was a natural spectacle. Dinner at San Domenica Palace Hotel over 30 miles away from Mt Etna on a windy evening left a sprinkle of ash from the active volcano all over the tables and our heads making our evening dining experience memorable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your feedback and wonderful review. Sorry you felt that there was not enough free time on this trip; This can definitely be a challenge when there is so much to see and do in Sicily. We'll definitely look into adding a little more time for this trip however and hope to see you again soon.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

tour lover

Aristocractic Sampler of Sicily

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

The Sicily trip was perfect from beginning to the end. Dinner with the princess, seeing Mt. Etna, lunch with the Baron, seeing Cordleone and the Anti-Mafia Museum, visiting 3 wineries and having lunch with their wine, fabulous dinners, little extra special unexpected treats, and beyond perfect leadership and service from the tour director. All A++

Most Memorable Moment:

Having dinner with the princess and lunch with the Baron was great. Each welcomed us into their palaces, were a gracious host and hostess, gave us a detailed palace tour, served us outstanding wine from their vineyard and winery and outstanding specialities to go with it. It was a 3-hour dream experiencing the aristocratic way of life. All was A+++

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button